jud jud: hardcore reminiscence

I remembered this the other day and was able to actually find some googles to back it up.  Derek had two Jud Jud 7″s and it has to be the most hilarious thing I’ve ever heard.  I don’t know what made me remember it.  Probably thinking about hardcore, thinking about the 5 most influential albums bulletin.  I remember the fake flyers showing them headlining above Minor Threat, and the more humorless than thou gushing reviews a la:

JUD JUD managed to strip everything away and find the purist of centers. Using only there mouths JUD JUD leave you standing drop jawed with the speed and insensity of a train (sic). A quote from The Demos 7 inch “Our lyrics have always been the most important part of JUD JUD. We write them separately and feel that is it necessary to print what each of us has to say. These words represent values, ideals, friendships and motivation. They define who we are. Thanxxx to everyone who has supported us over the years. You have made our dreams a reality. Go!”

Oh, now I’m nostalgic about hardcore and its ability to make me laugh.  In retrospect (I’m sure I was absolutely humorless and serious myself at the time).

Leave a Reply

